Yuen Siu Fai, BBS, BH

Artistic Director

Professor Yuen Siu Fai is a Cantonese opera maestro and a performer/researcher of Nanyin( 南音) in Hong Kong. He started his acting career at the age of seven. He was first a movie star, and then set foot on the Cantonese opera stage. He is also one of the few Cantonese opera artists who is famous for being able to perform across “Xing Dang” (粵劇行當), his roles includes not only Wenwusheng (文武生), Xiaosheng (小生), but also Chousheng(丑生)、Xusheng (鬚生)、Hualian(花臉) and Caidan(彩旦). Besides acting, he is also a Cantonese Opera scriptwriter and his famous works includes highly praised " Lu Mengzheng"《呂蒙正 . 評雪辨蹤》," Wen Ji Gui Han “《文姬歸漢》", " 𝘛𝘪𝘮𝘦 𝘈𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘳 𝘛𝘪𝘮𝘦"《大鬧廣昌隆》...

 

He was awarded the "Hong Kong Artist of the Year Award” in 1991, the "BH Medal of Honor" in 1992, and the " Art Achievement Award " by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council in 2003. Prof. Yuen is dedicated to the education and inheritance of Cantonese opera, he often gives lectures on Cantonese opera in universities and secondary schools. In 2012, he was presented an Honorary Fellowship by The Education University of Hong Kong. In 2014, he was awarded the "Bronze Bauhinia Star" by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, and in 2016, he was awarded the " Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts " by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. He is also an author and his works includes "Yuen Siu Fai’s Life Passion - Cantonese Opera”「阮兆輝棄學學戲─弟子不為為子弟」, "Cantonese Opera 101"「生生不息薪火傳─粵劇生行基礎知識」and his memoir “My life has no regrets” 「此生無悔此生」.

 

Professor Yuen is currently the Advisor of Hong Kong Leisure and Cultural Services Department Museum(Cantonese Opera) (香港康樂及文化事務署博物館( 粵劇 )), the Artistic Director of One Table Two Chairs Charitable Foundation and also Professor of the Music Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong(香港中文大學音樂系).

Musette Tsang

Co-Founder

Musette graduated from Drama School at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts with a BA (Honours) degree. She majored in acting. Although she studied Western drama, she has been exposed to Cantonese opera since childhood. In 2014, as a director, screenwriter and actor, she and Professor Yuen Siu Fai created BACKSTAGE, a contemporary drama in English telling the story of what happens in the backstage of a Cantonese opera troupe. Since its 2014 premiere in Edinburgh Fringe Festival, BACKSTAGE has received invitations to be performed at the Italian Opera Festival, the Netherlands, Belgium, Hawaii, Mexico, China, South Korea, Singapore, and of course our hometown Hong Kong. In 2015, she and Professor Yuen were invited by Bendigo Golden Dragon Museum, Australia to go on a field trip to study, research and authenticate their exhibits which are related to Cantonese opera, including costumes, props and cultural relics with a history of more than 100 years.

 

In 2018, Musette co-founded One Table Two Chairs Charitable Foundation with Henry, a charity which is committed to the inheritance, conservation, promotion and development of Cantonese opera. Musette plans to inject new energy and thinking into this traditional art form and raise the awareness of international audiences.  She has also created a Youtube channel and an Instagram account for OTTC with English commentaries in order to broaden the audience base (in terms of race and age) of this art form.

Henry Cheng FCPA

Co-founder and Chairman

Henry is a Fellow Accountant (資深會計師 ), he has served various senior roles in international and Chinese financial institutions, including Head of Equities Management, China Merchant Securities Intl; Director, China Equities Management and Development, Chief Representative of Shenzhen Representative Office, Royal Bank of Scotland; Head of Equities Compliance, ABN Amro; Head of Equities Research Compliance, Asia Pacific including Japan and Australia, Citigroup.

 

He admires Professor Yuen Siu Fai’s artistic accomplishment and is deeply impressed by his enthusiasm and commitment for the inheritance and development of Cantonese opera (Xiqu). He firmly believes that if the status and importance of Cantonese opera can be further enhanced on an international level, and the commercial value of Cantonese opera can be revealed and recognized, more resources could be attracted and secured in order to make the inheritance and development of Cantonese Opera more efficient, effective and comprehensive. Therefore, in 2018, he resolutely gave up his prestigious career and co-founded One Table Two Chairs Charitable Foundation with Musette. He is determined to utilise his previous work experience and business acumen to approach the conservation and development of Cantonese Opera in a more effective and systematic way, keeping in mind that this is a journey and not a destination.

CHAN MING KIT

Visual Image Director

Olympus Hong Kong's first PRO-photographer partner 

 In 2019 he was sponsored by Olympus HK to hold his own exhibition of photographic work titled 思想 . 偷窺 at HK Cultural Centre.

阮兆輝 BBS, BH

藝術總監

阮兆輝教授是香港資深戲曲工作者 , 七歲開始從事演藝工作, 初為電影童星,繼而踏上粵劇舞台,更精研廣東說唱之南音,是少數可以跨行當演出的戲曲藝人,除文武生及小生行當外,丑生、鬚生、花臉、彩旦等也是他近年常擔演的行當。演而優則編,他的著名作品包括評價甚高的《呂蒙正 . 評雪辨蹤》、《文姬歸漢》、《大鬧廣昌隆》。。。

 

1991年獲「香港藝術家年獎」,1992年獲頒授「BH榮譽獎章」,2003年獲香港藝術發展局頒發「藝術成就獎」。阮氏致力粵劇教育及承傳工作,經常在各大學及中學演講及主持學術講座,2012年獲香港教育大學頒授榮譽院士。2014年獲香港特別行政區政府頒發「銅紫荊星章」,2016年再獲香港藝術發展局頒發「傑出藝術貢獻獎」。曾親自撰寫「阮兆輝棄學學戲─弟子不為為子弟」 及「生生不息薪火傳─粵劇生行基礎知識。

 

阮氏現為香港康樂及文化事務署博物館專家顧問 ( 粵劇 )、一桌兩椅慈善基金有限公司藝術總監,以及香港中文大學音樂系教授。

曾慕雪

創辦人

一桌兩椅慈善基金 另一位創辦人—曾慕雪,畢業於香港演藝學院戲劇學院,獲藝術學士(榮譽)學位。主修表演的她,雖然讀西方戲劇出身,但從少已經接觸粵劇。2014年嘗試把西方舞台與粵劇結合,以導演、編劇及演員身份,與阮兆輝教授創作《戲裡戲外看戲班》一個講述戲班後台的英語舞台劇!至今已經到愛丁堡藝穗節、意大利歌劇節、荷蘭、比利時、夏威夷、墨西哥、中國、韓國、新加坡等10多個國家作巡迴演出;2015年更與阮兆輝教授赴澳洲Bendigo金龍博物館研究百多年前的粵劇戲服及文物。

 

慕雪於2018年與鄭思聰共同創立一桌兩椅慈善基金,致力為傳承、保育、推廣及發展戲曲藝術出力,以新思維推廣戲曲,讓戲曲走上國際舞台;亦創立一桌兩椅Youtube 頻道及配以英語解說的Instagram ,嘗試以不同類形的渠道,凝聚舊有粵劇戲迷之餘,同時吸引年青與非華語的新生代,擴大粵劇觀眾群的深度與寛度。

   鄭思聰 FCPA

創辦人兼主席

創辦人之一鄭思聰是一位資深會計師,曾在多間國際和中資金融機構擔任各種管理層職務,包括招商證券國際(China Merchant Securities Intl)任董事、證券業務部本報主管;蘇格蘭皇家銀行(Royal Bank of Scotland)任董事,中國證券發展及推廣,以及深圳代表處首席代表;荷蘭銀行(ABN Amro)任副總裁,亞太區證券合規部主管;花旗銀行(Citigroup)任副總裁,亞太區 (包括日本及澳洲) 證券研究合規部主管。

 

鄭思聰被阮兆輝教授對粵劇藝術承傳及推廣的熱誠深受感動,但有感現有的做法有很多改善空間,深信若能提昇粵劇藝術在國際間的地位,以及得到企業對粵劇商業價值的認同,定能爭取更多資源,讓推廣及教育工作更有效及更全面。於是,他在2018年毅然放棄高薪厚職,與曾慕雪一起創立了一桌兩椅慈善基金,他希望憑著昔日在商業機構累積下來的經驗與商業觸覺,利用更系統化的方法,令這條傳承、保育、推廣及發展粵劇藝術的路走得更長更遠,真的做到追本探源、弘揚傳統!

陳明傑

視覺美術總監

Olympus 香港區 首位 Pro-photographer 合作伙伴

在2019年,香港奧林巴斯(Olympus HK)獨家贊助了他在 "香港文化中心" 舉辦的個人攝影展 “思想、偷窺“。